Local Athletes Headed off to OFSAA Cross Country

Congratulations to the many NRHSAA athletes headed off to this weekend’s OFSAA Cross Country Championships in Petawawa, Ontario.

The Para race will be well represented by Shannon Swinson (Beamsville), Owen Konkle and Brian Knechtel (Beamsville), and JosephNokeo (Eden).

The midget girls will be represented by SOSSA champions Sir Winston Churchill (Lauren Brooks, Shayla Kuzyk, Mikayla Scaglione, Sadie Braun, Sarah Mateus). In addition, four individual runners also qualified: Molly Devereux (Greater Fort Erie), Tessa Jeffery (E L Crossley), Amy Baggs (Eden), Camryn Bylsma (Great Lakes).

The midget boys will be represented by second place team E L Crossley (Samuel Nawracki, Colton Sawatsky, Donovon Fenton, William Hamilton, Owen Mettler).  On an individual level, SOSSA champion Owen Lockyer (Eden) will be accompanied by Adam Woehl (Greater Fort Erie) and Tyler Woodland (Smithville Christian).

The junior girls will be represented by Brenna Ainslie (Westlane), Sydney Grummet (E L Crossley), Olivia Morey (Eden) and Annie Sterenberg (Great Lakes).

The junior boys will be represented by SOSSA Champions Sir Winston Churchill (Eric Campbell, Corbin Atkinson, Riley Coles, Josh Bezanson, Oreoluwa Fowler).  Carter McMaster (Eden) will also be competing as an individual.

The senior girls will be represented by SOSSA champions E L Crossley (Kate Knafelc, Jessie Fennell, Kaelen Partridge, Julia Labricciosa, Cate Gualtieri). Individually, Larissa Adamo (A N Myer), Kayleigh Bush (A N Myer), and Mackenzie Damiano (Laura Secord) will be competing.

The senior boys will be represented by SOSSA champions Sir Winston Churchill (Taylor Mowat, Harry Lengyel, Nick Reimer, Ethan Girard, Alex Meffe). Individually, Brock Deba (E L Crossley) will also be competing.

Congratulations to the Sir Winston Churchill Bulldogs for capturing the boys’ overall, the girls’overall and the combined overall SOSSA titles.

Best of luck to all in Petawawa!